Recovering the Adventure

Image

It’s 7 AM, and I have been up since about 6.  My little girl woke up, and I went and grabbed her to snuggle in bed with mom and dad for a little.  This week has been crazy and hectic to say the least.  It seems like every day has had a myriad of things to do along with the regular chores of the week, and honestly, I am pooped.  I feel like sleep is like a coma, but it’s over too quickly.  Ever feel like that?? Never mind.  I totally know the answer to that.  Most of you who read this blog are moms and dads, so I hear your shouts of a resounding yes.  So, I’ve decided Monday is rest day.  I can’t rest today.  There is an Easter egg hunt at our church, and it’s awesome.  The only way it runs is through volunteers.  My daughter so enjoyed it yesterday, so today, we are helping so others can enjoy it.  Sunday, of course, is Easter, so we will be running from house to house to visit all members of the family.  With Emme being so little, everyone wants to see her.  We want them to see her.  They are family, and we want to stress the importance of that.  So again, this week was crazy preparing for this weekend.

Do you ever just feel worn out by life?  I do not mean weekends life this that are busy for everyone.  I mean worn out by the day in and day out.  The every day chores.  The every day jobs you have to do.  You do the dishes in the sink, and then 5 minutes later it’s full again.  You finish folding and put away the laundry, and the hamper is full of dirty clothes.  You run the vacuum, and 30 minutes later, your toddler throws a full bowl of cereal against the wall and all over the floor you just cleaned.  I am reading the book Captivating by John and Stasi Eldridge.  Great book, if you haven’t read it.  One line in it probably speaks more to SAHMs, SAHDs, moms, and dads in general.  “No, the weariness comes from lives that crammed with routine, with chores, with hundreds of demands.  Somehow, efficiency has taken the place of adventure.”

It’s true.  It’s why moms burn out.  It’s why men have mid-life crises.  We are missing the adventure in life.  Somehow, we need to add that back into life.  Somehow life needs to take back on the mystery, the uncertainty involved in adventure.  Sometimes, we need to break that routine and go out and forget about the dishes and forget about cooking dinner and forget about the laundry and just enjoy the adventure of doing something different.  Of building a snowman outside with your daughter.  Of climbing a tree.  I bet as adults, most of us don’t realize how difficult that actually is to do now.  Of leaving your kids, who you devote so much of your time to have a WEEKEND with your spouse and using it to break out of your every day routines and the roles you play on a day to day basis and be kids again.  Life needs that spark.  It needs something out of the ordinary.  It needs an adventure created from within.  

Joel, my husband, was talking to me about passion the other day.  I am a firm believer that passion is a choice.  You can choose to be passionate about something, or you can choose to be dispassionate about life.  That choice is up to you, and it does not have anything to do with being thankful for what you have.  You can be thankful and recognize how good you have it, and still be missing the spark.  A lot of that depends on perspective, but I see now from reading this book that what he needs is adventure.  He needs something out of the ordinary on a regular basis to spice up life.  

So, wives and moms, or husbands and dads, decide that there are more important things in life than your list of to-do’s and demands.  Throw that list out the window at least once a week for the family and for you and your spouse individually.  Why? Because life was meant to be an adventure.  It was meant to have glory.  That comes from our Creator.  He meant life to be full.  He meant it to challenge us, to stretch us, but He also meant it for us to enjoy it.  I am not sure what that entails for us as a family.  I never meant for this post to end up like this.  I thought I was going to write about beauty for ashes, but God had something else in mind.  I realize now its because its what my husband needs, and while I thought the other night I had all the answers for him, I realize now that I needed to see more.  Thank God he does that in a myriad of ways.  

What will your weekly adventure be?  A walk in the woods with your kids where an imaginary band of pirates are chasing you and you are planning your escape?  A tree climb with your daughter where she is trapped by an evil witch, and the prince comes to save her?  A evening at home with your spouse meeting their emotional and sexual needs in a new and unique way? (I am not suggesting anything inappropriate here, but part of a healthy marriage is sex and that needs some adventure, too.  My counselor friend, Brady Novotny, would approve, I am sure.  Why are so touching with that topic as Christians, but God created that for fullness and enjoyment, too.  Think of your spouse as you plan that out. ) Or simply a weekend out doing something that you two love to do together?  Whatever is we have to bring the adventure back to the mundane and the routine.  Both men and women need it.  God created us to enjoy it!

But one more suggestion, try as hard as you can, even in the routine, to see each day, each task as an adventure.  Remember, perspective makes all the difference.

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

