Not Your Head, Silly….Your Heart

Image

So, I am sure it’s no surprise to most of you, but I am a thinker.  In our culture, it’s valued, and I understand why.  It’s wise to follow common sense wisdom, but there are times when it isn’t.  What I am starting to learn about being a mom, a Christian, a wife, a friend, and in all of the roles I play is that while thinking is good….you can way over think things.  Honestly, I have a tendency to do that.  It steals from me to be truthful.  I judge myself every day based on my performance, and often times I find myself lacking.  It’s something I don’t want to teach to my daughter, and it’s an area of my life that God is freeing me from.

I talked with my mum the other day.  (Didn’t mum sound British???  LOL.  I am a little weird sometimes, but the thought of saying mum like that felt good.)  I had a long conversation about God with her, and she said some wise things, and I, believe it or not, said some wise yet simple things too.  Sometimes, its the simplest things in life that can be the most profound.  So here is my profoundly simple wisdom….God didn’t intend us to comprehend Him with our heads, instead He intended us to live out of the well of our hearts that never runs dry.

Now, I know some of you Bible scholars out there will quote Jeremiah where it says the heart is deceitful and desperately wicked, who can know it.  But that it is only true of the unredeemed heart.  When you become a Christian, you get a new one because you become a new creation.  In Ezekiel, it speaks prophetically of the new heart and new spirit we are given on the day of our rebirth.  And I think what happens is we try to understand the spiritual things of God with our minds, and if you are like me you expect to figure it all out overnight.  But that isn’t how God works.

God doesn’t live in your mind, and when we seek to understand Him there we will come up short.  God spoke to me a while back and told me great provision was coming, and you know a lot of times, I try to understand that with my head.  I try to figure out and determine where it is going to come from, and then I hear a sweet voice that tells me I don’t have to figure it out.  I don’t have to determine its source.  I just have to trust Him, and that I already do in my heart…even when my head starts to question things.

It’s normally my reasoning that gets me in trouble, gets me tangled, gets me confused, gets me trapped trying to figure things out.  But here is what I know about God.  I have made Him hard, and He is not.  His plan is for me to trust Him.  To lean on Him.  David Faulk spoke at our church the other night, and he said that God doesn’t show us the whole plan at once because He wants us to trust Him.  He doesn’t want us to lean on us.  He wants us to lean on Him.  And you know what, He isn’t hard.  He isn’t using you,and He isn’t leading you on a wild goose chase.  I was praying a while back, and He spoke to my heart and told me that He could get me to my goals and desires in a straighter, shorter path if I would just follow His lead, instead of my own.  And what is His goal for my life?  Simply…abundance in every area–peace, joy, provision, health, enjoyment of family and friends, embracing of the beauty that He has surrounded me with because He is able to do exceedingly more than I can ask or think.

So what’s my step?  My dad would laugh….cut your head off.  Not literally, but figuratively.  Stop living in the limits of your mind and the finite knowledge it has, and instead dip out of the well that never runs dry….your heart.  It’s where Jesus lives. He promised the woman at the well that He would give her living water, and she would never thirst again.  He could only promise that if He put it in an accessible place, and He did….right inside you.  John 4:13-14 Jesus said, “Everyone who drinks this water will get thirsty again and again. Anyone who drinks the water I give will never thirst—not ever. The water I give will be an artesian spring within, gushing fountains of endless life.

Our Pastor, John Nuzzo, spoke this weekend about the story of our church, and he used the verse in Habakkuk 2:2-3: And then God answered: “Write this.  Write what you see.
Write it out in big block letters so that it can be read on the run.This vision-message is a witness pointing to what’s coming. It aches for the coming—it can hardly wait!   And it doesn’t lie.  If it seems slow in coming, wait.   It’s on its way. It will come right on time.

Even if it seems like a long time coming, your vision is right on time.  Be patient.  Let it bloom in your heart not your head.  See it with the eyes of your heart.  So back to my mom, I was talking with her about it seems like in Christianity that we are always talking about fighting, but there is no battle….just one….one good battle…..to live out of your heart and therefore enter rest….the enjoyment of all you possess and the knowledge that your God will meet all your needs…at precisely the right moment.  See it in your heart and let it grow. My mom called it a good battle.  Reminded me of that.  It’s not hard.  It’s so simple, its profound.  What do we do?  Live.  Live out of your heart.  Enjoy the beauty around you.  See it.  Really see the beauty.  

Jesus never fought on earth.  He never fought.  I believe its because He knew where He came from, knew where He was going, and knew who He was.  We can know that, too.  And honestly, I believe God intended for us to know that just as fully as Jesus did.  We can live, truly live, if we dip out of the well of our hearts that never runs dry because that is where Jesus lives through His Spirit.  

So what do you do now?  Enjoy it.  Every bit of your life.  Yes, you’ll have emotions and you’ll have thoughts that try to tell you its not true, but the good news is that isn’t where you believe.  Truth is you already believe in your heart.  Live there instead.  

 

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not Your Head, Silly….Your Heart

  1. This made me smile. Beautifully said Amanda.

Leave a Reply

