Stay the Course

Image

I am on vacation right now in beautiful Siesta Key, Florida.  I love it here.  This is my earthly paradise.  I feel like I could live here, do anything here.  It’s the beach, the sand, the waves, the smell of the ocean, the sound of the ocean, the warmth, the humidity….everything about this place except for the smell of the water and the amount of seaweed after a storm.  I feel like God made this place for me.  God made so much beauty.  I think He had us all in mind when He did that.  He made some beauty for me, and some for you.  Some of you like me love the beach.  Others are mountain and snow people.  Others are forest and wildflower kind of people, and some of us are Disney Land kind of people.  Huh, Jennifer Novotny?  

So I have been running down here, and because this is my paradise, I am such a better runner down here.  I can pretty easily run 3-4 miles here…maybe because it’s flatter, but its much more hot and humid…where at home I struggle sometimes with two.  I wonder why that it is?  Truth is that it’s my head, my attitude…trusting that instead of going with my heart.  Even as I run down here, I get to parts of the run where I just want to cut it loose, be reckless, and run fast.   There are parts of my run where I want to quit, to stop, but I am not breathing hard or out of breath and my muscles aren’t sore.  It’s just my mind saying stop.  But I refocus and get back to being in the moment, and I am good.  I also a lot of times pre-determine my stopping point, and my body is done by the time I get to that point.  Why?  Because of my head.  

Truth is all of life, like running, is a mind game.  Can you shut your mind off?  No, it thinks on autopilot 24 hours a day.  But you can choose to ignore the thoughts that are of no value, you can think on purposefully those things that are good and lovely, and you can do what your heart tells you to do in spite of that voice that tells you that you can’t do it.  I can run as long as I stay in the moment and encourage myself and focus on the here and now.  But if I let my focus wander into my head, I’ll stop.  

Funny thing is now I see when I do it.  I am learning to shut the voice off and trust my heart. I know I talk about that a lot, but that maybe my life’s message.  Live from your heart where Jesus is which is far better than the nonsense and sometimes destructive voice in my head.  I read this book by Kenneth Hagin a while ago called itching ears.  It actually made me so angry when I read it.  Because what it told me to do wasn’t what I wanted to hear.  It basically said you don’t need to hear something new. Instead, you need to do what you’ve heard already and do it with consistency.  Sometimes, that’s not fun, but I know its true.  Sometimes, we just need to do what we know to be right now.  And we will get to the next step if we just do what we need to do now.

God gives us help all along the way. He is much more patient than we are.  And He will keep speaking and offering encouragement along the way,and our lives and our minds will catch up to what’s in our hearts if we stay the course.  So what is my encouragement today??  Stay the course.  Keep on doing what God told you to do.  Keep living the vision He put in you because He will lead you along the right path if you shut off your head and live out of your heart.  

Best example I can give you of this is when I play with Emme.  I feel inadequate, silly, not good at it, but I am not giving up.  Why?  Cause its in my heart.  I am a good mom, and I am a good player with my child.  I feel silly, but I keep doing it.  You know why?  Because like God, she doesn’t care if I do it perfectly.  She just wants my attention and focus, and giving that to her meets the requirement.  So my goal is to keep ignoring my head and keep playing because she’s worth it.

You can do it.  Ignore that voice in your head, even if you feel silly!  It’s not silly.  It’s God’s will for you.  Be your truest you today.  You’ll feel so much better at the end of the day!  It will change you from the inside out.  You’ll feel joy and peace and confidence that won’t come from living out of your head.  Trust your heart.

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

