Rest….A New Beginning

Why does a new haircut feel like a new beginning?  I am not sure.  Yes, it’s a change, but a new beginning…a chance for healthy regrowth maybe?  Or just something new and exciting??

Image

I don’t know, but I feel like I got a new beginning yesterday since my hair cut.  I have the best stylist (is that the right word?) ever in Stacey Geisel, and I trust her completely.  Maybe that’s why she’s the best because I trust her.  Anyway, I got probably about 6 inches or so cut off, and it feels great.  I feel lighter, freer, new somehow…and for a woman who is 9 months pregnant with a 2 year old toddler….lighter, freer, new is miraculous.  LOL!

Anyway, I woke up with the idea for this blog of the haircut as a new beginning, but I had no idea where I would go from there, and then God has been so faithful that He finished it for me in just a few reads this morning from my devotional and daily Bible verse, and even the first few lines of the this blog.  I realize why I was able to let Stacey cut off all my hair that I have been so attached to for 8+ years…it’s because I trust her.  I knew that but never really saw it.  Did you ever see something like that?  You knew it, but you didn’t really know it.  It became like an aha moment?

Image

Well, I have just had a few of those over the past few weeks, and I think God is faithful and pretty awesome to share and some them to me.  So you know, I am pregnant already and technically full term.  My due date is April 5, and I said from the beginning I won’t rush this one like I did with Emme.  When he comes, he comes….even if He is late, but anyone who has been pregnant or spent time with a pregnant woman knows that you might get a little antsy at the the end for many reasons.  So I have been trying to get all my pre-baby jobs done, which is impossible as any mom knows…are you ever truly all finished?  No, and that’s where trust and rest come in.

Image

I just finished restoring and painting some old furniture for Emme.  New furniture is expensive you know, and buying new furniture that probably costs $600+ for a 2 year seems silly since stickers, pens, markers, paint, nail polish, and make up messes are all in her future.  So a great friend…shout out to Tammy Gordon…gave me tips on where to find old furniture and what to do with it in order to make it stand the test of time with a 2 year old.  I was so thankful for that instruction and embarked happily on my journey.  Well, 15+ hours later,  a little bit of perfectionist attitude combined with some painting knowledge, and I am pooped.  Maybe next time, I will leave the painting to the experts or do it when the kids get older and there is more time.  Anyway, that job kinda wore me out.  Don’t get me wrong.  I am glad I did it.  I love it and how it turned out, and I think it’s perfect in color and provision by God and it’ll be a memory, but it was a lot of work.  Combine that with everything else you do as a mom and that equals one tired and grumpy momma.

So what does that have to do with anything?  It’s the end of my work.  And a new beginning for Emme’s room.  Will she draw on it?  Yes!  Will I probably have moments where I bury my head in a pillow and scream when I see the stickers and markers and crayons she uses to add her own decoration to it?  Yes, but God’s grace will help me let it go, so we both can enjoy it.  See that’s the problem with life.  We work. We strive.  Enough is never enough.  We trust ourselves.  We add one more thing to our plate, and before we know it, we are tired, grumpy, and worn out.  Why do we do that?  Part of human nature I guess…Do you hear it?  I do.  Michael Jackson

Image…cue the…Why?  Why?  Tell em that it’s human nature.  Why?  Why?  (Okay, so now you know a little of my music loves.)  But seriously, because we keep telling ourselves and sometimes in a semi-trusting God sort of way that I can handle one more thing, our work is never done and we are tired and somewhat grumpy.

But God is not like that.  He’s not a you can handle one more burden kind of God.  If you have read my blog at all lately, you know how much I love this verse, but it’s so true in every area of life. Matthew 11:28-30 “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  I love this verse.  It speaks to me, and I think as moms and people we do this.  Come on you can handle one more thing.  You can add one more thing, but God never intended that, and sometimes He calls us to give up, to lay aside in order that we might enjoy rest and what we already have, not get one more thing done.

I read a great devotional by Joseph Prince this morning….haha tricked you.  You thought I was going to say Judah Smith because I am a Judah Smith junkie…but I didn’t.  He talked about how Jesus’s food was to do the work of His Father.  He was actually refreshed by it, and we can be refreshed by our work too if we stick to what He has called us to and go to Him for rest and refreshment FIRST.  I was reading a Facebook page of a friend the other day, and she had a post that mocked the saying sleep when your new baby is sleeping, which as seasoned moms is the quintessential advice for new moms…and rightly so.  But new moms never take that advice because they’re worried about cooking and cleaning and keeping up with everything else they did before.  It’s why we often get worn out and experience overload.  I am starting to discover that is not what God called me to do.  He called me to enjoy first and foremost my job as mom, and He will enable me to do so, if I look to Him take care of the rest.  How?  Well, maybe not in the way we envisioned.  It might be a friend who comes over and does laundry or cleans or vacuums…even if it’s not exactly the way we would do it.  It might be your husband does it. It might be that He is telling you to let go of some of the things that don’t really matter, so you can enjoy the things that do…like your kids, your husband, and REST.

Image

My husband and I have been in a small group at our church with some great people, and we have been reading, The Blessed Life, by Robert Morris, pastor of Gateway Church in Dallas….shout out to my buddy Marnie Murray who attends there, and thank you for sending us that book.  The book talks about how your whole life is blessed by tithing and following God’s principals for your finances, but God spoke to me and told me that it doesn’t end there.  There are lots of tithes we don’t give him such as a praise, time, enjoyment, and REST.  God created the earth in 6 days, and rested on day 7.  Was He spent?  Did He need a break?  No, He is God.  But He knew we would need a break, so He was giving us an example of sitting back, trusting Him, and enjoying what He gave you.  Do you do that in your life?  What day is your day of rest?  SAHM and SAHD’s, I know this is tough because your work is in your house….well, get out then.  Your rest doesn’t have to be in your home.  But you need it with God and for yourself because He wants you to not trust in your work or your money, and to instead trust Him that when you rest and don’t do that list of things that your head tells you to do, that He will redeem your time and help you enjoy what you have all the more.  So resting is my tithe.  It’s how I say, I am dedicating this part of my time to doing your will which includes spending time with Him but a lot of other things that say instead of working on this day, I will follow your example and somehow you will bless my other 6 days to get done what really needs to be done and get back to enjoying your life.

Image

Are you resting?  If you aren’t, it’s because you don’t trust your stylist, your life designer, God.  You don’t have to be enough.  You just have to trust that He is.  And I don’t rest sometimes because I look at myself and MY list, and don’t make Him and His list my priority all the time.  His list is greater than mine, and it will bring refreshment to my life instead of toil.  I have come to love this passage of Scripture over the past few weeks.  I honestly hated it before because I felt it was so misused, but if you read the context of it, you can’t help but see that this was meant to reinforce the goodness of God and not explain how bad things in your life happen, which is how I have most often heard it used.  Read it and see the goodness of God.

Isaiah 55:

1-5 “Hey there! All who are thirsty,
    come to the water!
Are you penniless?
    Come anyway—buy and eat!
Come, buy your drinks, buy wine and milk.
    Buy without money—everything’s free!
Why do you spend your money on junk food,
    your hard-earned cash on cotton candy?
Listen to me, listen well: Eat only the best,
    fill yourself with only the finest.
Pay attention, come close now,
    listen carefully to my life-giving, life-nourishing words.
I’m making a lasting covenant commitment with you,
    the same that I made with David: sure, solid, enduring love.
I set him up as a witness to the nations,
    made him a prince and leader of the nations,
And now I’m doing it to you:
    You’ll summon nations you’ve never heard of,
and nations who’ve never heard of you
    will come running to you
Because of me, your God,
    because The Holy of Israel has honored you.”

6-7 Seek God while he’s here to be found,
    pray to him while he’s close at hand.
Let the wicked abandon their way of life
    and the evil their way of thinking.
Let them come back to God, who is merciful,
    come back to our God, who is lavish with forgiveness.

8-11 “I don’t think the way you think.
    The way you work isn’t the way I work.”
        God’s Decree.
“For as the sky soars high above earth,
    so the way I work surpasses the way you work,
    and the way I think is beyond the way you think.
Just as rain and snow descend from the skies
    and don’t go back until they’ve watered the earth,
Doing their work of making things grow and blossom,
    producing seed for farmers and food for the hungry,
So will the words that come out of my mouth
    not come back empty-handed.
They’ll do the work I sent them to do,
    they’ll complete the assignment I gave them.

12-13 “So you’ll go out in joy,
    you’ll be led into a whole and complete life.
The mountains and hills will lead the parade,
    bursting with song.
All the trees of the forest will join the procession,
    exuberant with applause.
No more thistles, but giant sequoias,
    no more thornbushes, but stately pines—
Monuments to me, to God,
    living and lasting evidence of God.”

I know this has been long, but now it’s a time of rest.  I hope it’s one for you, too, and has helped convince your heart to rest in Him.  To look to Him first.  It’s a big change, but it’s worth it!

 

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

