Go to the Source

It’s a beautiful day.  70 something.  Blue skies.  Played at the park.  Now I have two sleeping kids.  Which is awesome.  I want to paint my toenails, put together my new double jogging stroller for our vacation to the beach, make avocado hummus…oh the million things on my want to do list.  But instead, I blog.  Mostly because I get to talk out some things in my heart.  

So you know from past blogs, I try to figure things out.  I should say the old me tried to figure out everything in my head.  I want to pin point exactly what Judah needs so I can prevent any crying, make bedtime easy, and just have the perfect baby, but the problem is that’s too much thinking and perfect is an illusion as I have said before.

There is no perfect, and besides when I value my own knowledge, I devalue the presence of God in my current moment.  And how I am so thankful for Him.  I am so thankful He is teaching me to trust Him in the messy day to day business of life.  Because the truth is life is messy.  Kids wake up before they should.  Babies cry.  Toddlers spill things and are louder than they should be when trying to put the baby to sleep.  Babies squirm while you blog.  LOL. Your To Do list often never gets finished.

But I’ve come to trust my source.  Our income, our children, the opinions of others, the things we own, finishing my to do list, none of those are my source.  Only Jesus is because he is a never failing source for whatever comes our way.  He has been teaching me that my mental picture of perfection doesn’t have to work out perfectly for life to be perfect.  He is present when my kids cry or misbehave.  He will help me get the most important things done in my day.  He has told me that I don’t have to give my child every minute of my attention to feel loved and turn out well.  He is here.  He is for me.  And He will be present in all my moments…good or bad.  And he will take what was meant for evil and turn it to good if I’ll let him.

But the best thing of all is the rest that comes from this.  The ability to enjoy the moment whether watching dishes, rocking a baby, typing a blog, or cooking dinner.  And I believe that is one of his aims….for us to enjoy the beauty around us that we often miss in our rush to get it all done and the anxiety of meeting everyone’s needs and have everything under control.  Instead I can take a big sigh of relief and trust that He has it under control, is on my side, and will freely give me all things I need for life and godliness.

Now, that’s good news.  So I am thankful for the ability to relinquish control and enjoy his love for me because I am the one he loves….and so are you.

Now go enjoy your day!

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

