It Matters What You Say and What You Think

I was at a family wedding this weekend, and I decided to go for an early run one morning just for some me time…to refresh. It wasn’t a long run, but the weather was perfect. It was about 75 degrees, no humidity, and a bright blue sky. It was simply gorgeous. Now, we were in Virginia, and near Virginia Tech, but it was slightly rural just past our hotel, so I got wafts of the lovely smell of sheep, horses, and cows on my run. I didn’t let that bother me. I just did my best to shut off my mind and run on. When I got back to the hotel, I got into the elevator with a man who said,”If you keep running like that, you are going to die worn out and wrinkled.” And I thought…What??? Really. My response was maybe something that he hadn’t expected. I said, “No, Sir, I am going to die healthy and whole.”

I am not sure if he found that response rude or not, but why do we say stuff like that?? I am sure I say stuff like that too, and I might not realize it. But, seriously? We say stuff like that. Why? Because we actually think like that whether we realize that or not.

I have never in my life since struggling with anxiety realized how important it is to guard your thoughts because they affect your outlook on life. I do this with my kids, too? I am sure you do, too. Which part of your day is the biggest struggle? Which part do you like the least? Do you think about it and abhor the part of your day? I do sometimes. I think about certain aspects of parenting and my negativity affect the way I parent my kids. And my attitude affects my outlook on certain aspects of my day. Is it wrong to not like certain things? No, absolutely not, but I’ve realized my own thinking affects me. It causes me to miss beauty. It causes me to miss out on opportunities to more fully enjoy my kids.

It’s not what I believe God intended. I do 100% believe that God created ALL things for you to enjoy, and I do believe there is a way to do it. And it’s not by gritting your teeth and bearing it and trying to do better. It’s simply by learning to trust God and to know that He will guide you and open your eyes to the beauty in the not so picture perfect Facebook moments of life.

Did anyone ever say to you in the midst of one of your moments to just try to enjoy it because it will all be over soon? I don’t think they say that to annoy you. I think its because most of those ladies are out of the season and realized how much they missed because of their attitudes and thoughts.

I need to rest and enjoy God in those moments, so I can rest and enjoy my kids all the more. It matters what I think. So I am saying, He has created ALL things richly for me to enjoy with my kids, and I find when I trust Him I enjoy more and am so much happier. God is so cool!

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

