Sometimes, I want to keep score

Did you ever just go off on a member of your family listing all the things you have done for them?  I have.  And why am I ranting to a 3 year old by the way?  She stopped listening to me 3 seconds in.  Ha ha.  But I do that sometimes.  I find myself keeping a list.  I did this.  I did that.  Why can’t you just…

I mean we are moms, right?  It’s kinda what we signed up for when we headed down this parenthood path.  But it can be hard on your flesh.  Seriously, living for someone else makes you realize just how much you lived for yourself before. But God has been talking to me about how much this steals my joy.  It does.  And He has also been telling me how much more wide open my life gets for His blessing if I stop keeping score.

So I am trying to keep the good score.  So today, I tried to notice the relationship instead of the work.  And I found some pretty cute mommy moments with Emme.  We were in the car, and we were talking about names, and she told me her secret.  She told me she knew her daddy’s real name and my real name.  Then I let her in on my little secret and told her the real names of her mimis and papous.  And she giggled and covered her face like I had revealed the silliest thing ever.  Favorite moment for sure.

We were hanging out a good friend’s house, and that was a blessing in and of itself.  I haven’t hung out with this pretty lady and her kids in for-evah!  Haha!  But I got tons of hugs from her little beauty today, and her little boy down right belly laughed at my daughter as she played their toy trumpet.  Not only did the kids have fun, even if my son almost demolished their train set, but the mommas got to talk and have fun catching up.

Then on the way home, I got my Starbucks fix, which moms know is a big score since it doesn’t happen every day.  I told my little peanut I was going to get her a cookie.  She was stoked, and better yet it was a purple butterfly cookie.  It was gorgeous, but my little girl didn’t want it because she wanted an Oreo instead.  So yet another score, I got a delicious cookie for me!

Do your kids ever joke with you?  Emme’s sense of humor is developing and sometimes, I am so busy trying to make her be proper I forget about the fun.  So today she threw her coat at me to hang up instead of handing it to me nicely, and instead of correcting, I laughed and threw it back.  We had a coat war, until she came up and handed it gently to me once she was done giggling about the battle with mommy.

After her Oreo feast, I told her she had to go upstairs to bed without getting icing all over the stairs since she eats her Oreo in layers (first the two chocolate cookies and then the icing as her final conquest) or I was gonna kick her butt.  And she looked at me and said no, I am going to kick your butt.  Then she literally tried to kick my butt.  Hilarious.  And all the while she was walking up the steps without arguing to take a nap. (If you are appalled by this, relax.  Let yourself be silly and enjoy your kids being kids.)

Then after I snuggled her brother to sleep, I got to snuggle her to sleep and sneak in a little nap, too!  Best day ever!  It’s the little things.  It’s so true it’s not things that matter most, but relationship that is enjoyed.  Loved today.

And one more thing, momma, if you are on the verge of your list, take a break.  You need it.  You need time to be a child of God, a woman, a wife, a friend, an athlete, a shopper, an artist, a creator.  Taking time for yourself is so important.  Let your kids see you create.  Let them see you protect time you need for yourself to rest, recharge, and be refreshed.  They need to learn that skill, too!  You matter, too, Mom!  It’s okay to say no when you need to for you.  And because I do take time for myself, I am better for my husband, my kids, my family, my friends, and God most importantly.

Lord, help me only keep the good score.  To take breaks when I need them.  To spend time in your presence. To trust you more and more.  To truly give myself to enjoy the relationships you’ve created me for.  To have fun when fun is needed.  To correct with love.  And to do it all in your strength not my own!

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

