What your kids want

Sometimes, my hormones want to make me over think things.  Yours or just your brain ever do that to you?  Sometimes, life seems so complex, but in reality it can be easier than we think.  I was tutoring one of my students online today, when I heard my daughter tell my mom that we played tents last night and it was so much fun.  And I started thinking, am I crazy?  Maybe she played this with her dad last night.  But after a few simple questions, I solved the dilemma.

About a week and a half ago, I decided I was gonna play with Emme even though I had had a tough day.  Well, we put her little people camping set up under the bottom of Judah’s exersaucer which has a jungle theme, so it looked like they were camping in the forest.  Then we got the bus and took the campers to the site and gave them cookies to look like s’mores and used Kleenex for sleeping bags and blankets.  I even made fake trees out of pipe cleaners and used an old scarf to make a path that the bus could drive on.  It was silly, and my thoughts kept telling me that she wasn’t having any fun and I wasn’t doing a good job of playing with her.

But today on this day, she remembered.  She talked about how fun it was and tried to recreate the scene with my parents.  It made me cry.  Oh how simple life is.  Give your kids your time.  Be silly.  Be funny. Be detailed.  Just do whatever.  They don’t care at all.  It’s not about saying the exact right thing or creating a total mind blowing experience.  It’s about time.  All they want is you.  They don’t care what you say to them or what you do with them.  They just want you.  They want to be close to you.  It’s okay to feel weird or wondering if you are playing it right.  Because guess what, if you are playing, you are doing it right.

Love is not so much a feeling as a choice.  A choice to just trust that you are enough for them, and that God makes up for whatever you can’t do.  He’s good like that.  Don’t make your kids or life too hard.  Just give whatever you are doing your time and attention, and it will be good….really good.  Enjoy your day and don’t overthink things too much!

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

