There’s this man I know

Every morning, I hear the sound of the alarm and snuggle the little girl who somehow crept into our bed in the middle of the night.  Last night she wandered over to my side, but a lot of nights, she wants the beautiful comfort of daddy.  This morning, he quickly yet quietly rolled to turn off the alarm so as not to awaken our blond haired, blue eyed beauty.  Then he goes back to sleep until it goes off another time or two more before resigning himself that he must get out of bed for the day.  And we lay cozily snuggled together in the bed that he gave up half his share of so she could sleep soundly tucked in the warmth of mom and dad.

That man that rises, dresses, and returns to kiss me before leaving steals my heart on a daily basis any more.  The kids and I get to enjoy the fruits of his labor and ride on the strength of his character and stability at home every day.  We get to enjoy each other, play with friends, make memories, and not miss out on life’s simply beautiful moments because daddy is a hard working, self-sacrificing man who gives of himself for us.

Then when he walks through the door, the kids are beyond excited to hear the creak of the door that lets them know daddy is home.  I’ll be honest.  Often times, mommy feels exactly the same way for a variety of reasons.  Then he sneaks in with a smile on his face to leap on and laugh with his kids and makes his way to me.  It’ll be the second time of this day that I have seen him and the second kiss I have received.

This post may not be the kind of post that sends tingles up and down your spine with excitement, but the strength of character that my husband offers makes any place we are together safe and secure.  I heard a pastor one time advise women to give up sexy Steve and instead marry steady Eddy.  Well, God gave me the most beautiful gift in that he combined those things into one man.  The quality of his personhood cannot be underestimated and I don’t want it to ever be undervalued.

I know so many women in my life who have husbands who fit this description for them as well.  Well, for as much as I talk about God and kids, I need to give accolade to the God who made this amazing man just for us.  You know it’s so easy to get stuck looking at and comparing your life to others and feel like something is wanting, and when you do that, the only person who loses is you.  Look at the man that God gave you, and realize how blessed you are that he is there, that he loves you, and he loves your family.  There are always ways to improve a marriage, but today, it’s simply amazing to just be thankful.

Honey, I don’t have words.  You captured my heart years ago, but you still continue to do it.  I love you.  Thank you for being the most loving, peaceful, stable thing in my life besides my relationship with Jesus.  I love you.

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

