She’s Beautiful Even When She Isn’t Lovely

You know sometimes I wake up and I look at the little girl laying next to me in bed, and I am struck by the overwhelming nature of her simple beauty.  Her skin is so soft.  She has these gorgeous blond soft curls, and if she had taken a bath the night before the smell of her skin is simply intoxicating. (It’s her lotion.  I love it.  It’s called Shea Moisture Raw Shea and Argan Oil Healing Baby Lotion.  I might use it too!  🙂 )  So anyway, I digressed, she takes my breath away in very simple ways even if her nose is running and she has a cough or a big eye crusty in the corner of her eye.  LOL.  I know you are all moms, and you know what I mean.  Sometimes, you just see the beauty of your kids even when there are other crazy nasty things there too.

Song of Solomon 4:7 says, “You are altogether beautiful, my love, there is no flaw in you.”  And I know this was Solomon speaking to His wife which is good because God loves us to love our spouses, but this is really God’s heart toward us, too.  Even though he knows we have flaws, he doesn’t see them.  When He looks at us, He sees love because of Jesus.  Thank God.  And I know we are human, and we have moments where we see the flaws in ourselves and our kids, but thank God, His love for us doesn’t see those anymore.  He calls us the truth of what we are rather than the reality of what He sees.  Why?  Because we are His.  Because He made us and loves us with such a perfect love.  I am so thankful for that.

Wow, that was not what I intended to write there, but someone must need it, so I am glad I took the detour.  I am writing this because if you’ve read my blog before you know that one thing I moved toward when I was dealing with hormonal imbalance was perfection, and last night, while I was talking to my husband, I realized I am really not a perfectionist at all.  I like nice things, and sometimes, I like a certain order or way of doing things, but I like dirt and fun and shaving cream battles and sometimes frogs and toads.  I grew up with two older brothers, so I am a little tom boy too.  But I like to be girlie and dress up and wear makeup sometimes, too.  Well guess what?  I was blessed with a daughter just like me.  She can be frilly and girlie and then she can want to play in the water and the dirt and want to do what the boys do too.

And you know what? I love that about her.  I love all those sides of her.  God made her so amazing.  She is smart and beautiful and comes up with some crazy stories and ideas.  Then she makes jokes that have to do with potty humor, and I think those are funny sometimes, too.   It’s weird because even when she isn’t meeting the ideal form of loveliness in my eyes she is still beautiful.  I guess I am driving the point home to myself that perfection isn’t the goal, finding beauty in the everyday facets of your life is.  And oh, how beautiful she is even when I am trying to blog and she won’t leave her brother alone so I can finish.

I think the thing that makes me love Emme is she really is my Wild Child.  Ever hear that song by Kenny Chesney?  I love it.  But she has so many colors and sides and crazy and calm and loving and fierce, and it makes me crazy and so in love in that same time.  Know what I mean?  It’s the gleam in her eyes when she’s being silly.  It’s the way she strokes my hair when we lay in bed at night just like I am doing to her even though it hurts me because she has no idea how to be gentle. It’s the way she shoves a whole handful of peppers in her mouth to get them eaten so she can get up to play again.  It’s the way she dives head first into life, and the way she snuggles when we relax.  It’s just the beauty of who she is dirty and clean, happy and sad, calm and frustrated, learning and teaching, everything.  And so even when she tests my patience, she is still beautiful and worth the challenge just by virtue of being mine.  It’s just a small picture of the way God loves us.

Thankful today.

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

