It’s Time for a Slow Down

Once a month, I slow down.  I have to!  My body screams for it.  It requires it, or I’ll lose it!  Haha!  And It’s funny.  I overdramatize a lot, but during this time, I really hear me heart.  I hear the real me.  But I’ve discovered, I don’t have to wait for once a month to hear my heart.  I can hear it all the time and I want to.  I just have to slow down.  In our culture, slowing down is not sexy and no one is admonished to do it.  But I want to encourage you, slow down now…not when you retire.  You’ll miss so much!  And you’ll have regrets that you no amount of money or things can get you back.  Money can buy you everything except time, and time is a reward that is priceless.

You know being a mom though extremely busy has taught me so much about the heart of my Father.  He wants so much for me.  But more than anything, He wants me content, rested, pursuing my purpose, and enjoying every good thing He’s given me all the while trusting His love and His ability to be my provider.  It’s hard to wrestle loose your grip on the control you feel like you have.  Control makes us feel powerful and safe, but little do we realize, control is an absolute illusion.  So instead of taking the leap and doing things God’s way and in His order and allowing Him to provide, we decide to be our own providers.  And because of that we short circuit His provision.  We walk a harder road.  We add toil and stress to what was meant to be crazy provision.

Oh, how thankful I am for good friends who constantly encourage me to stay the course, to not veer to the right or the left.  To obey because His faithfulness is unparalleled.  And it’s not always the same.  And it doesn’t have to be.  And the hardest thing is for me to not know where the provision is coming from, but every time I have ever trusted Him and been the me He created me to be, He has never failed but always done greater than I could ask or think.

I am thankful for the thoughts.  I am thankful that I can hear my heart, and though it’s a challenge and in the face of most of what is valued in our culture today, I choose my heart by the grace of God.  I thank Him for eyes to see and ears to hear and a heart that believes Him.  I was at lunch the other day, and I heard a few 20 somethings talking about a threesome with another guy and girl, and my heart realized it’s job was so important.  My job is to build security and strength in this home.  Because this world has lots to offer my kids that could ruin their lives.  And what would I gain if I gained the whole world but lost them?

I have a big job to do.  But God is so faithful to help me live on purpose, live fulfilled, and enjoy life.  I love this verse in the message: Psalm 63:7–Because you have always stood up for me, I am free to run (pursue purpose and fulfillment) and play (enjoy life).  I am so thankful He has created me to be me.  Thank you God for help to be me and keep my eyes on you as provider.  I don’t want to live small by what I can fathom or provide.  I want to live large.  To have a wide open and spacious life.  Thank you God that you help me do that by giving myself away to the people and visions you have placed in my life.  Help me to take my eyes off the wind and the waves, and keep them solely on you for that’s where I can walk on water!

Slow down and listen to your heart!  It’s worth your time, and it will save you time, heart ache, and toil!

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

