At the Feet of Jesus

Where are you right now?  Physically yes but metaphorically in your life, where are you?  Are you where you want to be?  Do you feel fulfilled?  And I don’t just mean surface fulfillment?  I mean in the core of your heart are you fulfilled? When you lay your head down at night, do you sleep in peace knowing that what you are giving yourself to is what you were meant to do? Do you know that the path you are currently following is the one you were meant to be on?  Have you pursued things that you think will satisfy, but you found yourself still thirsty?

crossroads

I have found myself there many times without really understanding why.  I have been lonely in a room full of people I know well.  I have been lost on a path I knew full well I was taking.  The thing that often drives most of us down the paths we take in life is fear, comparison, logic, and often common sense.  And I can’t compete with any of those things.  Sometimes, fear is good, but oh, it can be so bad.  Comparison, well, I don’t think we all realize that we live so much of life out of it until we are so far down a path we lack the no how of how to get out.  Logic and common sense?  What’s wrong with those?  Nothing unless it leads you farther away from your heart.

But no matter where you are today, here is a powerful truth:

end

God put that ability in you.  He gave you the ability to choose between your head and your heart.  To say yes to Him and who you really are in your heart or to say yes to the comfortable well, traveled path that leads you further toward ideals of success maybe but out of the peace and security of living out of who you are.

My Pastor, John Nuzzo, said something incredibly life changing for me.  He told me that when I don’t have boundaries in my life, I am living someone else’s life.  Because my boundaries protect my values, thoughts, and passions.  You were made to be an original, so please don’t die a copy.  That has stuck with me.  So often when I start to live out of ought to and this makes the most sense and this person is doing this, I realize that I am taking steps out of my boundaries toward someone else’s life, and I want to be me.  I want to live my life.  I want to walk the path God intended for me, so I avoid pain, toil, and strife that I don’t need to deal with.

God’s provision is always in front of you.  He will work all things together for your good, but what will you have to deal with to get there by going the way of fear, comparison, or even logic?  The prodigal son had to go through some pretty low points to run back to his daddy, but he could have experienced the blessing all along.  Or are you more like the elder brother, striving and toiling to earn a position you already have with God?  He isn’t using you.  He isn’t a slave driver…that is your own ambition and lies telling you you aren’t enough.

There is this passage in the Bible.  I honestly used to despise it because it was so misused, but I’ve read it and realized the life and peace promised in it is for me if I will just come and sit at the feet of Jesus.  If I will just sit down and talk to Him as myself.  And start by telling Him the truth, maybe it’s, “I am so lost.  I have no idea where I am going or how I got here, but I need help.”  Maybe it’s, “I don’t know how to talk to You or what to say or how to hear you or be led, but I want to know how to do those thing.”  All He has been waiting for is an open door, the one you open.  He won’t force Himself in, but oh how He longs to rescue you once you invite Him in.  Check out this amazing piece of incredible love and promise by God:

Isaiah 55:   Invitation to the Lord’s Salvation (Love this title!)

55 “Is anyone thirsty?
    Come and drink—
    even if you have no money!
Come, take your choice of wine or milk—
    it’s all free!
Why spend your money on food that does not give you strength?
    Why pay for food that does you no good?
Listen to me, and you will eat what is good.
    You will enjoy the finest food.

“Come to me with your ears wide open.
    Listen, and you will find life.
I will make an everlasting covenant with you.
    I will give you all the unfailing love I promised to David.
See how I used him to display my power among the peoples.
    I made him a leader among the nations.
You also will command nations you do not know,
    and peoples unknown to you will come running to obey,
because I, the Lord your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, have made you glorious.”

Seek the Lord while you can find him.
    Call on him now while he is near.
Let the wicked change their ways
    and banish the very thought of doing wrong.
Let them turn to the Lord that he may have mercy on them.
    Yes, turn to our God, for he will forgive generously.

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord.
    “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.
For just as the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so my ways are higher than your ways
    and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.

10 “The rain and snow come down from the heavens
    and stay on the ground to water the earth.
They cause the grain to grow,
    producing seed for the farmer
    and bread for the hungry.
11 It is the same with my word.
    I send it out, and it always produces fruit.
It will accomplish all I want it to,
    and it will prosper everywhere I send it.
12 You will live in joy and peace.
    The mountains and hills will burst into song,
    and the trees of the field will clap their hands!
13 Where once there were thorns, cypress trees will grow.
    Where nettles grew, myrtles will sprout up.
These events will bring great honor to the Lord’s name;
    they will be an everlasting sign of his power and love.”

no eye

 

Don’t you see?  He wants to rescue you.  Right where you are, wherever that might be.  It could be the highest of highs or the lowest of lows.  And oh how He is teaching me to do it even when I am strong and feel like I can handle things.  He wants to carry it all.  Lead me at every turn.  And all I have to do is sit at His feet and listen to what He says.  He created me….and you.  He made you the amazing you that you are.  How many of your gifts and talents are being wasted as you search for success according to the world’s standards? And here is the best thing, following after Him is always a success.  It always lifts the level of your life in every way higher, so you can be more of a blessing to someone else.

Yes, the world needs you, and your role is pivotal.  It cannot be downplayed.  There are people who will be affected by your obedience, but I promise you that God wants to fulfill you.  He is not using you.  He wants to bless you.  So spend time with Him, give Him the ability to provide for and lead you.  He will do it in only the most loving way possible that will fulfill you.  I think about this in the case of my kids.  There are things as a parent I say no to for my kids, because I know choices are better.  He is no different.  He will provide boundaries, but His boundaries bring more life, not less.

Live your life.  Be You!  Use the desires and gifts and talents in your heart to enjoy every aspect of your life, and let God take care of it all from start to finish.  He wants to rescue you.  Will you let Him?

freedom

 

 

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in at the feet of Jesus, enjoyment, family, God, help, hope, Isaiah 55, Jesus, life, love, obedience, relationship, rescue, security, trust, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

