It’s Been A Journey

Did you ever just want to get to your destination now?  I mean when we were getting ready for the cruise, I just wanted to get there.  But there was preparation to be made.  I had to pack my kids, so they had everything they needed and were comfortable and provided for while we were away.  They’re a big part of my heart.  I had to pack myself.  I needed clothes and other necessities to fully enjoy everything we wanted to do on our AMAZING vacation.  (Btw, if you have never done a cruise before, you should try one.  And contact our travel agent….she was awesome.  Jennifer Novotny, Upon a Star Travel & Concierge…you can find her on facebook!)  Anyway, I digressed.  But if I wouldn’t have packed, my vacation wouldn’t have been as successful.  I would have been lacking some necessities or spending a lot of extra money unnecessarily.  But my heart wanted to just get there NOW especially as it got closer.

I feel that way in life sometimes.  Like I just want to be there, but I know there are experiences I need in my journey that will make my next there all the better.  You can’t skip the work, but you can enjoy the journey.  So many destinations I was reaching for in life have proved to be less than what my heart really wants.  What do I want more than anything?  I want a full life…full of purpose, full of joy, full or people, full of God, full of of my family…..abundant.  My journey in my 20’s thought money and position and a certain house and style of clothes would produce that, but I have learned that those didn’t really produce peace, joy, and satisfaction.  I didn’t really give myself to what mattered.  And I will be honest, when I had Emme, learning to live unselfishly was tough.  It was hard, but it was so worth it.

I feel like my journey keeps repeating itself, like I keep getting back to the same point and it’s how I know I am on the right track.  It keeps proving to be worth it to fight for my heart.  To choose to follow the voice of my Father (that while I may not know all the steps or understand all His ways because they are higher than mine) is always better than following the voice of fear and limitation.  But it’s not always easy.

I was listening to Christine Caine yesterday a message about having the courage to let go of your past.  We all have a past.  Yours might be more painful than mine seems, but they both led to death.  I was caught in selfishness and greed and comparison which still led to a small boxed in life.  Yours might be cluttered with abuse, rejection, hate, or trauma.  It doesn’t matter what it is.  Jesus overcame and faced death so we could have the full abundant life I was talking about.  If it’s possible for Christine Caine, it’s possible for you.  You will have to face the pain of your past.  You will have to expose it.  But you can learn to call it the lie that it is.  It doesn’t define you.  And it can only hold you back, if you believe it has the power.  Facing the pain of recovery will far outweigh living in the pain of the injury for the rest of your life.

God calls us to a wide-open, spacious life in 2 Corinthians 6:11-13.  The only thing that holds us back is our ability to believe it or to hold on to the past over the promise of the hope of His future.  But this is His promise in Ephesians 3:20:  God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.  Now that is good news.

Please listen to Christine’s message.  It is life changing.  There are only one set of words on paper that should define you, and that is the words included in the Bible because they tell you WHOSE you are and WHO you are….and that begins with infinitely loved.

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

