It’s All About the Food Baby

Good morning y’all, today is Day 5 with Sagi, the Beast!  I know you are thinking….wait, what happened to Day 4?  Well, Day 4 was a rest day, so I rested from workout and stretched instead which is a super good idea daily.  If you are needing a few quick stretches that will help you you can check out my video! Stretch Video .  So since Day 4 was rest, I took a rest from blogging too.

Anyway…Day 5….my computer DVD issue continues.  once a beginnerI have no idea what is up with my computer, but I decided it was time to clean the computer and get things right in the world again.  So with kids awake, I moved over to the basement T.V.  This video was short and sweet.  23 minutes….thank you Sagi.  I definitely had to make some modifications though.  I still modified chin ups and delt flys.  I can’t use the band. It makes me strain too much, so I switched over to my weights.  I can feel when I am straining and putting a lot of the effort into my neck and shoulders instead of the muscle, so I know it is time to modify or lessen the weight somewhat.  My favorite reminders are that everyone was once a beginner, so modifying isn’t cheating.  It is helping you reach your goals! And this quote is a great reminder too!  Comparison will steal from you every day if you let it.  Live big!  Don’t compare!

compare

My biggest victory of today was food.  And I just want to tell you that all things are possible.  I know you may be tired hearing that, but it is true.  Small prep ahead steps will really help you reach your goals.  There are a few things I do each week to help me stay on track especially when I have to grab food fast.  20160115_113922_resized

  1. Hard boil a 1/2 dozen eggs.
  2. Make ahead steel cut oats.
  3. Prepare ahead quinoa.

Because those are go to’s in my meals and snacks, it is super helpful! So even though I was rushing out the door, I could still eat a great meal without taking the time to cook the oats!  And yes, I eat while I drive….don’t judge me!  Haha!

My meals were so pretty, but they were down right delicious and kept me on track every step of the way!  I will show you my lunch and dinner, and then I will share with you my recipe for the best sweet potatoes this side of the Mason Dixon Line….and by this side, I mean NORTH of it!  Ha Ha!

Now, I got a little hasty and HUNGRY, so I had eaten some of my potatoes and veggies before I took this pic!  But trust me the meal plan for Hammer and Chisel or 21 Day Fix, since this fits both, won’t deprive you!

Smoky, Sweet Sweet Potatoes                                                                                                  Ingredients

  • 4 Sweet potatoes peeled and diced
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tsps of cumin
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tsps of chili powder
  • drizzle of honey

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Peel and dice potatoes.  Place on a cookie sheet.
  2. Drizzle with coconut oil, honey, and sprinkle with remaining seasonings.
  3. Roast in oven for 20-25 minutes.  Turn potatoes halfway through cook time.

IMG-20160115-WA0000In other news, I became an aunt again today!  I have a new niece her name is Aubrey!  She is beautifully perfect and staying calm for her momma!  I just became an aunt for the 4th time on December 5 when my other sister in law had a little boy named Luca!  We are in love as our extended family continues to grow.  My hubby and I have been considering adoption to grow our own family, and we have been feeling called to look into adopting a child possibly from Syria.  I know that is controversial, but many little ones have lost moms and dads in the conflicts occurring over there.  And we would love to show love to one of those babies and give our kiddos another sibling to show love to!  So if you think of it, please do keep us in your prayers for wisdom and direction in that area!

focus forward

Well, I am learning that yesterday is yesterday!  Keep learning from what happened, but don’t let yesterday define you….physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually!  I can’t rely on yesterday’s failures or successes!  And I have to make that choice daily in my workouts, parenting, eating, relationships, work experience, and many others.  I pray you have those blinders on to focus your eyes on the future.  Trust Jesus.  He will help you!

 

 

 

 

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Hammer and Chisel, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

