Asian Chicken Mason Jar Salads

So I have been into making Mason jar salads.  Why?  Because they are quick, easy, and a great way to get nutrients at lunch time.  You can prep about 5 of these babies in about 40 minutes time and have lunch for the week.  It’s really great!  And honestly, you can be as creative as you want.  You could make pasta or quinoa salads in these.  You could even do hot meals in mason jars. You could do a burrito bowl in a jar.  The great thing about Mason jars is the seal.  You don’t have to put them in a boiling water to create a great seal that will keep veggies fresh for a week.  If you add meat, obviously you will want to be wise about how long you keep them.  My suggestion is no more than 4-5 days.

So what do you need?  Inspiration.  Clean, dry jars.  Clean and cut veggies, a protein like chicken or tofu or beans, and a great dressing!  This is one of my newest creations, and it’s perfect because if you know me, you know I love ALL things Asian!  Plus I have a friend who has been asking for an Asian Chicken salad too, so Lena this one is for you!

Prep is so important.  It is easiest to wash and chop all up front, so that filling them is quick.  You will eat your frog first….get the hardest part out of the way, and then you can assemble them 5 in about 10 minutes.

So you can see that I prepped my veggies first.  Just an FYI I bought the scallions, carrots, and almonds pre-chopped that definitely helped.  I chopped the snow peas, red and yellow peppers, Romaine, purple and yellow cabbage.  I buy a rotisserie chicken and pulled the chicken off the bone for salads.  That is a huge help, too!  The oranges are cuties.  So I simply peeled them and segmented them.  The amount you see above is enough for 2 salads.  Think about how many you are prepping while you are chopping.

20160411_161200The next step is dressing.  This is a crucial part of the salad, too.  Come on, you know.  The dressing can make or break the salad.  I love this one!  It’s a combo or orange juice, soy, rice wine vinegar, sesame oil, and evoo.  Then I make it better with spices like garlic and onion powder, salt, pepper, ginger, and Sriracha.

Finally, you combine the ingredients for the salad, starting with the veggies that are tough and won’t easily get soft or mushy.  So carrots first, then snow peas, peppers, oranges, scallions, almonds, chicken, cabbage, and finally the lettuce.  Sometimes, I place a small piece of paper towel in the top just to absorb excess moisture.  Then I screw the lid on tight.  20160411_164032

Asian Chicken Salad

Salad Ingredients:

  • 1 Cutie mandarin orange, peeled and segmented
  • 2 green onions chopped
  • 1/4 red and yellow pepper diced
  • grated carrots
  • snow peas
  • almonds
  • Romaine lettuce
  • chicken
  • purple and green cabbage, thinly sliced

Dressing Ingredients (enough for 4 salads:

  • 1/4 c orange juice
  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1.5 tbsp soy sauce
  • 3 tbsp evoo
  • 2 tsps sesame oil
  • 1-2 tsp Sriracha
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp garlic and onion powder
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 2 tsp mustard (to emulsify)

Preparation:

  1. Combine all dressing ingredients in jar with a lid and shake to combine.  Taste to adjust seasonings.
  2. Put 2 tbsps dressing in the bottom of a clean dry, quart sized Mason jar.  Then layer your salad beginning with carrots, snow peas, peppers, oranges, scallions, almonds, chicken, cabbage, and finally Romaine lettuce.
  3. Put a small square of paper towel in the tops of the jars to absorb excess moisture.  Twist lid onto jar tightly.  Refrigerate for up to 4-5 days.
  4. Enjoy!

It’s my joy to make these salads and fill my family’s bellies with great food that will truly fuel their bodies. I am so thankful God has given me the opportunity to share this with others!

Much love,

Amanda

If you have questions or just want to connect, please feel free to Email Me!  If you are looking for a health and fitness coach that will motivate you and help you on your journey, please feel free to check out My Site, join my team, and check out products I believe in. Let me take this journey with you! Can’t wait to meet you!

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

