Zucchini Noodle Lasagna

I just had a Pampered Chef party.  Cooking has always been a passion of mine.  At the party our wonderful host, Meghan Morris, showed us the veggie spiralizer.  It was amazing and so easy.  Can’t wait to try it….been wanting to zoodle for so long!  (PS…if you need a great consultant, here is Meghan’s link).

That party was the inspiration for a great dinner this week.   I wanted to use noodles instead of pasta, but my spiralizer isn’t here yet.  So I was searching on Sunday as it is my meal planning day for healthy pastas with zucchini noodles.  Bonus: Aldi had a special on zucchini last week, too!  Anyway, found a recipe for zucchini roll ups, like lasagna roll ups.  So I was like, bam, there it is.  Got the ingredients and went on my way.

But I got a little lazy on Tuesday and thought this is azucchini noodles lot of work to roll up these guys individually, so I decided, ehhhh….let’s make it easy and go for lasagna.  So I did that instead…much easier.  Grabbed my trusty mandolin (If you have one of these you know to watch your fingers….I cut myself every time I use one.  Except this time because I was extra careful! ) I sliced 2 small and 2 medium zucchini.  Took me about 5 minutes.

Whipped up the cheese mixture in my Ninja…..yummy! I was rather leery of this step btw.  Most recipes I have made for lasagna leave the cheese mixture chunky, and I kind of love that.  But don’t skip it here!  So good.  Plus I threw in about 1-2 cups of spinach and hid extra veggies from my kids!  That’s a pat on the back for me!  Mom win!

I made the sauce super easy.  I used a jar of Barilla fresh basil sauce.  I checked the ingredients no added sugar, and only whole foods and spices.  I was pumped.  I did doctor it a little by browning Italian turkey sausage, onions, garlic, and some refresh tomatoes.  Then I added in the jar of sauce to warm through.

So without further ado, here is the recipe.  You won’t be sorry.  Oh and btw, most recipes said to grill the zucchini.  I think this was to help with water content.  That was too much work for me.  I skipped that step, and my lasagna was NOT watery!  Happy lasagna making!

Zucchini Noodle Lasagna20160503_221920

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium and 2 small zucchini mandolined into 1/4″ slices
  • 1 jar of Barilla Basil and Garlic sauce
  • 3 Roma tomatoes diced
  • 1 onion diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic diced
  • 1 lb Italian style turkey sausage, casing removed
  • 3 cups shredded Mozzarella cheese
  • 12 oz Ricotta cheese
  • 8 oz cottage cheese
  • 1/2 c fresh basil
  • 3 tbsp dried parsley
  • salt and pepper
  • 1.5 c fresh spinach
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 fresh clove of garlic
  • 4 tbsp Romano cheese

Preparation:

  1. Prepare the zucchini by slicing on a mandolin and letting slices sit on a baking sheet until the rest of the ingredients are prepared.
  2. Begin making the sauce browning the turkey sausage  with onion and garlic.  Once meat is cooked through, add in diced Roma tomatoes and allow the juice to begin coming out.  About 2-3 minutes.  Add in jarred sauce leaving just a little remaining in the jar for the bottom of the lasagna pan.  Heat through.
  3. Making the cheese filling by combining the remaining ingredients (except Mozzarella cheese) in a blender.  Pulse until smooth.  Yum!
  4. Prepare your pan.  Preheat oven to 375.  Put some olive oil in the bottom of a 9×13.  Spread to grease the pan.
  5. Put the remaining jarred sauce on the bottom of the pan and spread.  Put down a single layer of zucchini overlapping each piece slightly.  (Direction doesn’t matter…I actually changed directions while layering mine!) Cover the bottom of the pan with zucchini noodles.  Put down 1/2 of your sausage sauce.  Then add a little more than a 1/3 of your smooth cheesy delicious filling.  Sprinkle with 1/2 c shredded mozzarella.  Repeat the layers reserving a little sauce for the top but using all the chunks of sausage in the middle layers.  Last layer: zucchini noodles, just a little tomato sauce for yumminess, a little of the cheese filling, stirring the sauce and filling together.   Top with about 2 cups of shredded mozzarella.  Cover with foil.  Bake for 30 minutes.  Uncover.  Bake for 20 min.  Let sit for about 10 min after cooking and before serving.

21 Day Fix Equivalents: 1 green, 1 red, 1 blue (Yay….no yellows!)

About ajoyborrelli

My daughter, Emme, came into my life in December of 2011. I recently resigned a teaching position to be a stay at home mom and take care of her. This blog chronicles our days, activities, and lessons learned along the way!
This entry was posted in 21 Day Fix Recipes, Dinner Recipe, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

